Nie można wyświetlić wtyczki FB

 

Tourist facility: The Palace and the Park in Iłowa

The Palace and the Park in Iłowa

???: The Palace and the Park in Iłowa 1
  • Area:
    GPS: N: 51° 29' 48.02''
    E: 15° 11' 48.08''
    Added by: Magdalena Rodenko
    Added: 04.08.2012

Description

The palace located on the small river Czerna was built in 1626 by a Baron Christoph von Schellendorf.  Count Friederick von Promnitz rebuilt the palace. The Promnitz family erected the second tower and laid the park in a French and English style. On the south side of the Palace a solar clock was installed above which there is an inscription – Time is passing, friendship lasts. The next owner of the palace, Count Frederick von Hochberg, ruling from 1902 to 1914 enriched the palace interiors. He was inspired by his trips to Japan and Asia and introduced elements of oriental art.
In 1945 the Palace was occupied by the Russian Army and later returned to the Polish Authorities. Unfortunately during the war the building was destroyed. The valuable old furniture and unique decorations creating the special atmosphere of the palace were stolen or destroyed.
 
For the next four years the Palace did not have an owner. The beautiful building started to decay. It was rescued by the decision to open a college in Ilowa. The Palace chambers were transformed into classrooms but the unique décor was saved which has been admired for the last sixty years. Today, a complex of Post-Secondary Schools is situated in the building. 
 
 

Location map

Photo galleries

Photo gallery (2)

 

Starostwo Powiatowe w Żaganiu

ul. Dworcowa 39, 68 - 100 Żagań
Herb Powiatu Żagańskiego
tel. (068) 477 79 01, fax (068) 477 79 20
e-mail: starostwo@powiatzaganski.pl
Nr konta: 95 1020 5402 0000 0202 0336 8032

Your browser does not support embedding of multimedia files

Events ›

  • Banner: ZPP
  • Banner: ANR
  • Banner: Alternatywna Baza Firm
  • Banner: Goerlitz
  • Banner: Lubuskie Warte Zachodu
  • Banner: Lotnisko
  • Banner: LPI